Firehouse 3 Museum is a unique example of early fire fighting efforts in the City of Racine. The building was constructed on the western edge of Racine in 1882 and served as an active fire station from 1882 through 1968. Initially the fire station housed a horse drawn steamer until 1918 when a motorized fire engine was acquired. From 1918 to July of 1943 the American LaFrance pumper provided fire protection for areas south and west of the fire station. In July of 1943 the first full time rescue squad was placed in service at Fire Station 3 and the fire engine decomissioned. Rescue squad services were provided through 1968 when the Safety Building was opened and the unit moved there. Come and take a stroll back in history to a simpler time in life and see the challenges faced in the early days of fire fighting in Racine. The museum is open by appointment only. See our main page for contact information or contact the Racine Fire Department.